29 April 2020

Book Review of A Promise of Fireflies by Susan Haught

A Promise of Fireflies
by Susan Haught

A Promise of Fireflies is a vibrant, multi-layered story about a woman who confronts her past to find her way onward. Middle-aged Ryleigh Collins feels alone and abandoned after the death of her mother and the imminent dissolution of her marriage. But while sorting her mother’s belongings, Ryleigh discovers her mother wasn’t quite the person she thought she knew so well. After she decides to pursue answers to the riddles left behind, the bereft woman finds that the family she cherished was only a dream. 

Among her late mother's possessions, she discovers a strange notebook. Ever-inquisitive Ryleigh, seeks out Ambrose, a mysterious elderly gentleman. Apparently, he isn't just familiar with Ms. Ryleigh's past, but also seems to know a lot about her present and possibly even her future. Confused by the things she learns about history, and profoundly hurt by her soon-to-be ex-husband's infidelity, Ryleigh seeks refuge in the Colorado mountains.  

Upon her arrival, she is almost immediately drawn to the owner of the resort, Mr. Logan Cavanaugh. When a snowstorm hits, and they are sequestered together at the deserted resort, Logan and Ryleigh become aware of their growing feelings for each other. However, they are haunted by their demons. They are each so scarred, they are unsure if they can break free from the shackles of their past to forge a future together. 

The author has woven a story of loss and love, sprinkled with beautiful poetry, and this search for truth and forgiveness is told with candor and tenderness. The interactions between Logan and Ryleigh are incredibly passionate. A Promise of Fireflies truly engulfs the reader in a tantalizing romance that most of us can only dream about. And although the characters in this book aren't flawless (but then, who is?), it shows that at any age, life can become exhilarating again if you only dare to put your fears aside, and face the unknown. The author shows how our most deep-seated anxieties can keep us from the love and life we desire and explores the pitfalls with courage and openness. 

Piper is the author of several non-fiction books, and recently added five historical fiction novels to her ever-expanding collection of published writings, In the Shadow of Her MajestyThe Country Girl EmpressA Life in the Shadow of the Crown, The Perpetual Traveler, and Excerpts from the Imperial Diary. When she isn't busy typing on her computer, she can be found chasing after her furry children or holding on tightly to a good cup of coffee. Follow her on LinkedInFacebook, and Goodreads.
Don't forget to share this post! Choose your platform below:

PS: I am taking my newest book, EXCERPTS FROM THE IMPERIAL DIARY, book four of The Country Girl Empress series, on a blog tour. Come join me over the next six weeks, starting this Sunday, the 3rd of May 2020, as I stop at different blogs, and learn more about me and my newest historical fiction novel. My first stop will be author Nancy Christie's blog!

No comments:

Post a Comment